Officers

Executive Board | Sections & Officers | Interest Groups & Coordinators
Committees & Chairs | LLA Office

EXECUTIVE BOARD

Association business is conducted by the Executive Board at quarterly meetings. The Executive Board consists of the elected officers of the Corporation, the LLA representative to the American Library Association, the LLA representative to the Southeastern Library Association, and the elected Section chairmen. Officers are President, Vice President/President-Elect, Second Vice President, Secretary, Parliamentarian, and Immediate Past President. Section chairmen include Academic, Government Documents Round Table (GODORT), Louisiana Association of School Librarians (LASL), Louisiana Support Staff Association of Libraries (LaSSAL), Public, Subject Specialists, and Trustees. The editor of Louisiana Libraries and the LLA Executive Director are nonvoting members of the Executive Board.

Louisiana Library Association Officers and Executive Board

President
Robert Bremer
Email: robert.bremer@nicholls.edu
Work Phone: (985) 448-4657x
Phone: (985) 448-4657x


1st Vice President / President Elect
Paula Clemmons
Email: pclemmons@episcopaldayschool.org
Work Phone: (337) 433-5246x
Phone: (337) 433-5246x


2nd Vice President
Kathlyn Bowersox
Email: Kathlyn_bowersox@subr.edu
Work Phone: (225) 771-2666x
Phone: (225) 771-2666x


Past President
Vivian McCain
Email: vmccain@mylpl.org
Work Phone: (318) 513-5508x
Phone: (318) 513-5508x


Secretary
Holly Priestley
Email: hpriestley@oplib.org
Work Phone: (318) 327-1490x
Phone: (318) 327-1490x


ALA Councilor
Stephanie Braunstein
Email: sbraunst@lsu.edu
Work Phone: (225) 578-7021x
Phone: (225) 578-7021x


Louisiana Libraries Editor
Celise Reech-Harper
Email: celise@beau.org
Work Phone: (337) 463-6217x22
Phone: (337) 463-6217x22


Back to Top

 

SECTIONS

Special interests of members are met by Sections. Members may join as many Sections as they wish. Membership in one Section is part of basic Association dues. Each additional Section costs $6.00. Sections conduct preconferences, workshops and seminars during the year, present awards, and plan and conduct a program and meeting at each Annual Conference.

Sections are integral components of the Association. Their members assist in identifying problems and issues and in recommending solutions. Sections also plan programs and produce publications germane to their purpose, and cooperate in meeting the professional needs of their members. Each Section elects officers to carry out its goals and objectives.

The Academic Library Section provides a network for the exchange of ideas, enhances leadership for college and university libraries, and promotes study and research relevant to academic libraries.

Academic Chair
Patricia Brown
Email: pbrown@lsue.edu
(337) 550-1385x


Vice Chair
Sonnet Ireland
Email: sebrown3@uno.edu
(504) 280-7276x


Secretary
Melinda Matthews
Email: matthews@ulm.edu
(318) 342-1067x


The Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) provides a focal point for discussing and exchanging ideas about information from all levels of government. The Section also provides a means for initiating and supporting programs and publications to increase availability, use, bibliographic control, and management of these documents.

GODORT Chair
Karen Cook
Email: kcook@slol.lib.la.us
Phone: (225) 342-4937x


Vice Chair / Chair Elect
Hayley Johnson
Email: hayley.johnson@nicholls.edu
Phone: (985) 448-4670x


2nd Vice Chair
Jean Kiesel
Email: jsk8711@louisiana.edu
Phone: (337) 482-1164x


Secretary
Charlotte Henderson
Email: chucki4@aol.com
Phone: (225) 771-0071x


Past Chair
Gail Kwak
Email: kwak@nsula.edu
Phone: (318) 357-4466x


The Louisiana Association of School Librarians (LASL) provides leadership for the school library media specialist and promotes both personal and professional growth. The Section disseminates news concerning state and national issues and trends affecting the profession; provides educational opportunities to keep members informed about professional issues; and links school library media specialists with knowledgeable colleagues.

LASL President
Kristy Sturm
Email: kasturm@lpssonline.com
Phone: (337) 521-7411x18919


1st Vice President / President Elect
Jade Calais
Email: rjrcampbell@lpssonline.com
Phone: (337) 521-7950x


2nd Vice President
Desiree Alexander
Email: educatoralexander@gmail.com


Secretary
Janet Gary
Email: jgary@iberia.k12.la.us
Phone: (337) 364-3927x


The Louisiana Support Staff Association of Libraries (LaSSAL) provides opportunities for continuing education to library support staff. Support staff comprises a large percentage of library personnel and includes para-professionals, library technicians, library assistants and personnel under various civil service classifications. LaSSAL promotes sharing ideas and communication among our members. We encourage personal and professional development to ensure excellent library service throughout Louisiana.

LaSSAL Chair
Brenda Manning
Email: brenda@pandkm.com


Vice Chair / Chair Elect
Gail Goldberg
Email: grgoldberg@rpl.org
Phone: (318) 748-4848x


Treasurer
Kathy Tuminello
Email: ktuminello@shreve-lib.org
Phone: (318) 226-5871x


Past-Chair
Elissa Plank
Email: esp1061@lsu.edu
Phone: (225) 578-3216x


LaSSAL Archives Committee Chair
Gary Davis
Email: gdavis@state.lib.la.us
Phone: (337) 824-1210x


The Public Library Section promotes the professional growth and development of public library service and public librarians. The Section goals include seeking adequate funds for public libraries through community support; improving library administration and management; integrating technology into library operations; educating and training public library personnel; and exchanging ideas with library supporters to influence public library service.

Public Chair
Jeremy Bolom
Email: jbolom@mylpl.org
Phone: (318) 513-5512x


Vice Chair / Chair Elect
Erin Chesnutt
Email: echesnut@beau.org
Phone: (337) 463-6217x


Secretary
Crystal Gates
Email: cgates@myjpl.org
Phone: (318) 259-5697x


Parliamentarian
Pamela Edwards
Email: pedwards@calcasieu.lib.la.us
Phone: (337) 721-7178x


The Subject Specialists Section encourages those with a particular subject interest or expertise to become members. They may work with a special library, information center or collection, or have a personal interest in a special subject. Subject Specialists Newsletters.

Subject Specialists Chair
Connie Phelps
Email: cphelps@uno.edu
Phone: (504) 280-7273x


Vice Chair / Chair Elect
Charlene Bonnette
Email: cbonnette@slol.lib.la.us
Phone: (225) 342-2791x


Secretary
Jean Kiesel
Email: jsk8711@louisiana.edu
Phone: (337) 482-1164x


The Trustees Section supports the development of public library service and recognizes the responsibility of its members to be effective leaders to benefit the libraries they represent. The Section identifies and coordinates programs for the development and education of trustees, and encourages participation in related organizations. The Section co-sponsors programs and publications with the Public Library Section.

Trustees Chair
James Pilgreen
Email: jameswpilgreen@att.net


Back to Top

 

INTEREST GROUPS

Interest groups are established in response to a petitioned request from twelve or more members of LLA. Interest groups develop around a topic of substantive concern to provide a forum of exchange and generation of ideas, and intellectual development for its members. Membership in one Interest Group is part of basic Association dues. Each additional Interest Group costs $3.00.

Each Interest Group is headed by a Coordinator(s).

Automation & Technology: Vivian Solar, Email: vsolar@state.lib.la.us


Distance Education: Crystal Gates, Email: cgates@myjpl.org


Diversity: Jacqueline Jones, Email: jonesjl@mybrcc.edu


Diversity: Alma Dawson, Email: notaed@lsu.edu


Diversity: Melanie Sims, Email: melanie.sims@law.lsu.edu


Library Managers: Elissa Plank, Email: esp1061@lsu.edu


Library Managers: Christopher Achee, Email: cachee@state.lib.la.us


New Members Round Table: Sonnet Ireland, Email: sebrown3@uno.edu


Preservation: Charlene Bonnette, Email: cbonnette@slol.lib.la.us


Reference: Van Viator, Email: moonfall9@yahoo.com


Social Media: Gail Kwak, Email: kwak@nsula.edu


Storytelling: Genevieve Campbell, Email: tcampbel@state.lib.la.us


Teachers of Library Science: Beth Paskoff, Email: Bpaskoff@lsu.edu


Technical Services: Charles Hughes, Email: HUGHES@ULM.EDU


Teen Services: Vanissa Ely, Email: vgosserand@gmail.com

Back to Top

 

COMMITTEES

Association Committees are appointed for the purpose of carrying out the work of the association. The President, with the approval of the Executive Board, appoints these Committees, as well as the Committee Chairs. LLA currently has 17 standing association Committees.

Each Committee is headed by a Chair

Complete Committee Rosters

Section Committee Rosters

Back to Top

 

LLA OFFICE

8550 United Plaza Blvd., Ste 1001
Baton Rouge, LA  70809

local: (225) 922-4642
toll-free(877) 550-7890
fax: (225) 408-4422
e-mail office@llaonline.org