The Association's awards program honors significant contributions to libraries and librarianship. Some awards are from the Association as a whole, others are awarded by individual Sections of the Association. For further details and qualifications, please refer to the LLA Manual.

The LLA is seeking nominations for the 2016 Awards. Nominations are due by January 15, 2016. Forms for each award are located below. Please contact with any questions.

Association Awards

Alex Allain Intellectual Freedom Award recognizes the contributions of an individual or a group actively promoting intellectual freedom in Louisiana.

Anthony H. Benoit Mid-Career Award presented to a member in mid-career who has made outstanding contributions to librarianship.

Essae M. Culver Distinguished Service Award honors a librarian whose professional service and achievements, whose leadership in Louisiana association work, and whose lifetime accomplishments in a field of librarianship within the state merit recognition of particular value to Louisiana librarianship.

LLA Meritorious Service Award publicly recognizes an individual who has demonstrated sustained and exemplary leadership and service to further the development, services, visibility and/or policies of LLA.

Louisiana Literary Award presented to the author of an outstanding book about Louisiana. 

James O. Modisette Awards:

Public Library is presented in even numbered years to a public library to reward and encourage the improvement of public library service in a two-year period.

Public Library Trustee is presented annually to a Public Library Trustee to commemorate distinguished service to a Louisiana public library. 

Schools are presented annually to an Elementary School Library, to a Middle/Junior High School Library, and to a High School Library to recognize excellence in Louisiana school library programs. 

Section Awards:

Grassroots Grant:
This award recognizes outstanding graduate or undergraduate library sciences students. Sponsored by the Academic Section and Herbert G. Thorpe & Associates.

Lucy B. Foote Award presented by the Subject Specialists Section to an Association member in recognition of his/her contribution to special librarianship.

Margaret T. Lane Award This award is sponsored by the Government Documents Round Table to recognize an individual or organization that has made an especially significant contribution in advancing access to, or use of government information in Louisiana. 

Outstanding Academic Librarian Award To publicly recognize an individual who has made an especially significant contribution to further the development of academic libraries/librarians/librarianship within Louisiana.

School Library Media Specialist Award presented by the Louisiana Association of School Librarians to the school library media specialist who has demonstrated through action and philosophy a dedication to the mission and goals of the media specialist profession. 

Sue Hefley Educator of the Year Award presented by the Louisiana Association of School Librarians to an educator who has made outstanding contributions to school libraries in Louisiana.

Support Staff Professional of the Year Award Presented by the Louisiana Support Staff Association of Libraries (LaSSAL) to a support staff professional who has made outstanding contribution to his/her library in the field of experience and advanced and strengthened the image of support staff.