Louisiana Library Association

Log in

MEMBER LOGIN

COMMITTEES


Association Committees are appointed for the purpose of carrying out the work of the association. The President, with the approval of the Executive Board, appoints these Committees, as well as the Committee Chairs.

Interested in serving on a committee? Just click the button below to fill out a standard committee volunteer form or an awards committee volunteer form.

                  



Each Section may also have Committees established to carry out the work of that particular Section. Each Section has Committee Chairs.

LLA currently has 16 standing association Committees:         



Anthony Benoit Mid Career Award

Purpose
To recognize a Louisiana librarian in mid-career for outstanding contributions to the field of librarianship.

Committee Members
Chair:  Melinda Matthews,  matthews at ulm dot edu

Committee: 
Erin Chesnutt, echesnut at beau dot org
Abagail Desoto, abigail dot desoto at lsus dot edu
Brittney Hargrave, brittney dot hargrave at cpsb dot org
Will Olmstadt, will dot olmstadt at lsuhs dot edu


Essae M. Culver Award

Purpose
To honor a librarian whose professional service and achievements, whose leadership in Louisiana association work, and whose lifetime accomplishments in a field of librarianship within the state merit recognition of particular value to Louisiana librarianship.

Committee Members
Chair: Kate Martin, kmartin at nolalibrary dot org

Committee:
Elizabeth Batte, elizabeth dot batte at nicholls dot edu

Brittney Hargrave, brittney dot hargrave at cpsb dot org
Melinda Matthews, matthews at ulm dot edu
Vicki Nesting, vnestin at bellsouth dot net


Finance

Purpose
To review the annual budget for submission to the Executive Board. To review quarterly budgetary and financial statement supplied by fiscal officer To advise the Board on long range financial and investment planning. To keep abreast of all fiscal issues facing the Board and serve as financial advisors to the Board. 

Committee Members
Chair: Giovanni Tairov, Treasurer

Committee:
Lora Amsberryaugier, lamsberr at uno dot edu

Jeremy Bolom, llabolom at gmail dot com
Angela Dunnington, adunnington at selu dot edu
Sonnet Ireland, sonnet at sonnetireland dot com
Melainie Sims, notmes at lsu dot edu
Blair Stapleton, blair dot stapleton at louisiana dot edu


Intellectual Freedom

Purpose
To defend the right and responsibility of the publicly supported library preserve the freedom to read, as stated in the "Library Bill of Rights" adopted by the American Library Association.

Committee Members
Chair: Lesley Gilchrist, ligilchrist at caddoschools dot org

Committee:
Raven Creech, raven dot fcre at gmail dot com
Lisa Jones, lisa dot jones at lafayetterpubliclibrary dot org
Michael Russo, mrusso at lsu dot edu
Courtney Stortz, crimes at dcc dot edu


LLA Meritorious Service Award

Purpose
To publicly recognize an individual who has demonstrated sustained and exemplary leadership and service to further the development, services, visibility and/or policies of LLA.

Committee Members
Chair: Blair Stapleton, blair dot stapleton at louisiana dot edu

Committee: 
Lonnie Beene, lbeene at mcneese dot edu
Tanya DiMaggio, tanya at stpl dot us
Elizabeth Kahn, elizabethskahn at gmail dot com
Katherine Rubin, krubin at uhcno dot edu


Louisiana Literary Award

Purpose
To promote interest in books related to Louisiana, to encourage their publication, and to keep informed on the release of such books.

Committee Members
Chair: Elissa Plank, esp1061 at lsu dot edu

Committee:
Caitlin Cooper, ccoope at dcc dot edu
Abigail Desoto, abigail dot desoto at lsus dot edu
Kayla Kalnasy, kkalnasy at shreve dash lib dot org
Crissie Molina, crissie dot molina at stpl dot us
Zachary Stein, zachstein at louisiana dot edu

Modisette Award

Purpose
To recognize excellence in Louisiana school library programs, rather than honor an outstanding school librarian.

Committee Members

Elementary School Libraries Chair: 

Middle School Libraries Chair: Lovie Howell, kim.howell at bossierschools dot org

Committee: Amanda Jones, amanda.jones at lpsb dot org

Laura Foy


Junior/Senior High School Libraries Chair: 

Committee: Leslye Gilchrist, ljgilchrist at caddoschools dot org

LaKiesha Graham, lbgraham at caddoschools dot org 


Public Libraries Chair: Don Smith, donsmith at state dot lib dot la dot us

Committee: Bianca Roberts, broberts at tangilibrary dot com

Jennifer Seneca, jseneca at mypl dot ingo

Meg Placke, mplacke at crt dot la dot gov


Public Library Trustees Chair:

Committee: John Tuggle, jtuggle at shreve-lib dot org

Celise Reech-Harper, llacelise at gmail dot com

Mary Jo Cooper, mjcooper at gmail dot com

Meg Placke, mplacke at crt dot la dot gov

Resolutions

Purpose
To initiate resolutions. The committee will act without bias or prejudice on the proposed resolutions and will have the power to review and edit the proposed resolutions for presentation in an acceptable format. It may refer resolutions to appropriate individuals, committees, or sections for study. It may also reject resolutions for being poorly prepared, inappropriate, or in conflict with the LLA Constitution, Bylaws, or policies. The committee will approve only those resolutions deemed to be important to the LLA membership.

Committee Members
Chair: Chris Achee, Parliamentarian, cachee at state dot lib dot la dot us

Committee: Elizabeth Batte, batte dot elizabeth at gmail cot com




Please refer to the LLA Manual for further information on the charge and responsibilities of these Committees.



Conference

Purpose
To plan and make arrangements essential to the efficient conduct of the activities of the annual conference of the Association.

Committee Members

Conference Chair: Celise Reech-Harper, llacelise at gmail dot com

Exhibits Chair: Joseph Gremillion, jgremillion at shreve-lib dot org
Committee: 

Local Arrangements Chair:  Amy Wander
Committee:  

Program Chair: 
Committee: 

Publicity Chair:  Jennifer Hamilton
Committee: 

AV Chair:  Heather Plaissance
Committee: 


History

Purpose
To maintain the written history of the Association on an annual basis and shall include: Significant Executive Board action, Sections, Awards, Conference, Publications, and Committees. To compile and submit to a database to ensure availability to all members of the Association, the names of the General Officers, Section Officers, Award winners, Conference theme and site and dates.

Committee Members
Chair: 

Committee: 


Legislation

Purpose
To enlist the necessary support for successful passage of laws (federal, state and local) tending to promote library interests. To enlist necessary opposition to bills injurious to library interests. To develop plans yearly for a State Legislative Day, including a workshop for training of participants.

Committee Members:
President: Jeremy Bolom, jbolom at mylpl dot org


First Vice President/President-Elect: Lora Amsberryaugier, lamsberr at uno dot edu

Second Vice President: Jenny Mayer, jennyrosemayer at gmail dot com

ALA Councilor: Vivian McCain, straitviv at gmail dot com

State Librarian: Rebecca Hamilton, rhamilton at crt dot state dot la dot us

LALINC:  Teri Gallaway, teri dot gallaway at regents dot la dot gov

Member-At-Large: Elizabeth Batte, elizabeth dot batte at nicholls dot edu
Member-At-Large

Public: Brandon Shoumaker, bshoumaker at calcasieulibrary dot org

Special

Academic:  Courtney Stortz, crimes at dcc dot edu


LLA Scholarship Committee

Purpose
To solicit funds from School of Library and Information Science alumni, association members, industry, and other sources. To administer the scholarship award.

Committee Members
Chair: Brandon Shoumaker, bshoumaker at calcasieulibrary dot org

Committee:
Paula Clemmons, pclemmons at episcopaldayschool dot org
Vivian McCain,  straitviv at gmail dot com
Vicki Nesting, vnestin at bellsouth dot net
Katharine Rubin, krubin at uhcno dot edu
Kaci Wilson, kaci dot wilson at lsus dot edu

Membership

Purpose
To solicit and stimulate membership.

Committee Members
Chair: Jennifer Creevy, jcreevy at uhcno dot edu
LaSSAL: Jenny Mayer, mayerj at stpl dot us
Public: Kayla Kalnasy,  kkalnasy at shreve dash lib dot org
Sub Specialist: Will Olmstadt, wolmst at lsuhsc dot edu
School: Erika Russell, erika dot russell at ypsb dot us
School: Jennifer Powers,jpowers at caddoschools dot org
Academic: Kaci Wilson, kaci dot wilson at lsus dot edu
SLIS Student: 
VP/President-elect: Lora Amsberryaugier, lamsberr at uno dot edu


Nominating

Purpose
To prepare a slate of two or more nominees, each of whom meets the qualifications stated in the Bylaws, for each elective office. 

Committee Members
Chair: Academic/Subject Specialist: Connie Phelps, cphelps at uno dot edu
Public: Chris Achee
School Librarian: 



LLA Scholarship Trust

Purpose
To be responsible for the guardianship of the funds of the LLA Scholarship Fund - A Trust.

Trustees


Web Oversight

Purpose

Advocate for a content-rich and engaging website that benefits the Association and its members. Propose new content areas to the LLA Executive board for inclusion on the Association's website. Ensure that pages are up-to-date and error-free. Submit content and corrections to the association management team/web administrator. Ensure that the website follows best practices in web design and advocate for website improvements to maintain a modern and attractive website.


Committee Members
Chair: Shanna Clevenger, scleve at dcc dot edu

Committee:
Luis Interiano, linteriano at wbrplibrary dot us
Ricardo Mesa, rmesa at jefferson dot lib dot la dot us



Louisiana Library Association
1190 Meramec Station Rd.
Suite 207
Ballwin, MO 63021
lla@amigos.org
1-800-969-6562 ext 3

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software