Louisiana Library Association

Log in

MEMBER LOGIN

COMMITTEES


Association Committees are appointed for the purpose of carrying out the work of the association. The President, with the approval of the Executive Board, appoints these Committees, as well as the Committee Chairs. Please refer to the LLA Manual for further information on the charge and responsibilities of these Committees.

Interested in serving on a committee? Just click the button below to fill out a standard committee volunteer form or an awards committee volunteer form. 

                  



Each Section may also have Committees established to carry out the work of that particular Section. Each Section has Committee Chairs.

LLA currently has 16 standing association Committees:         



Anthony Benoit Mid Career Award

Purpose
To recognize a Louisiana librarian in mid-career for outstanding contributions to the field of librarianship.

Committee Members
Chair:  Erin Chesnutt, 2021-2024 (echesnut at beau dot org)

Abagail Desoto, 2021-2024 (abigail dot desoto at lsus dot edu)
Lindsey Reno, 2022-2025 (lreno at uno dot edu)
Will Olmstadt, 2021-2024 (will dot olmstadt at lsuhs dot edu)

Essae M. Culver Award

Purpose
To honor a librarian whose professional service and achievements, whose leadership in Louisiana association work, and whose lifetime accomplishments in a field of librarianship within the state merit recognition of particular value to Louisiana librarianship.

Committee Members
Chair: Kate Martin (kmartin at nolalibrary dot org)

Elizabeth Batte, 2021-2023 (elizabeth dot batte at nicholls dot edu)
Brittney Hargrave (brittney dot hargrave at cpsb dot org)
Melinda Matthews, 2021-2024 (matthews at ulm dot edu)
Michelle Parrish, 2022-2025 (dparrish at mylpl dot info)
Vicki Nesting, 2022-2025 (vnestin at bellsouth dot net)


Finance

Purpose
To review the annual budget for submission to the Executive Board. To review quarterly budgetary and financial statement supplied by fiscal officer. To advise the Board on long range financial and investment planning. To keep abreast of all fiscal issues facing the Board and serve as financial advisors to the Board. 

Committee Members
Chair: Giovanni Tairov, Treasurer

Lora Amsberryaugier, 2021-2024 (lamsberr at uno dot edu)

Jeremy Bolom, 2020-2023 (llabolom at gmail dot com)
Melainie Sims, 2021-2024 (notmes at lsu dot edu)
Jessica Styons, 2022-2025 (llajess at yahoo dot com)

Angela Dunnington, 2021-2024 (angelad at latech dot edu)


Intellectual Freedom

Purpose
To defend the right and responsibility of the publicly supported library preserve the freedom to read, as stated in the "Library Bill of Rights" adopted by the American Library Association.

Committee Members
Chair: Don Smith, 2022-2025 (donsmith at state dot lib dot la dot us)

Leslye Gilchrist, 2022-2025 (ligilchrist at caddoschools dot org)

Raven Creech, 2021-2024 (raven dot fcre at gmail dot com)
Michael Russo, 2022-2025 (mrusso at lsu dot edu)
Courtney Stortz 2021-2023 (crimes at dcc dot edu)

Jessica Styons (jstyons1 at yahoo dot com)

Amanda Jones, 2023-2026 (amanda dot jones at lpsb dot org)

Tiffany Whitehead, 2023-2026 (librariantiff at gmail dot com)

LLA Meritorious Service Award

Purpose
To publicly recognize an individual who has demonstrated sustained and exemplary leadership and service to further the development, services, visibility and/or policies of LLA.

Committee Members
Chair: vacant position

Janelle Zetty, 2022-2025 (janelle dot zetty at louisiana dot edu)

Trevor Collings, 2022-2025 (tcollings at mylpl dot org)


Louisiana Literary Award

Purpose
To promote interest in books related to Louisiana, to encourage their publication, and to keep informed on the release of such books.

Committee Members
Chair: Elissa Plank, 2022-2025 (esp1061 at lsu dot edu)

Caitlin Cooper, 2021-2023 (ccoope at dcc dot edu)
Abigail Desoto, 2021-2023 (abigail dot desoto at lsus dot edu)
Kayla Kalnasy, 2021-2024 (kkalnasy at shreve dash lib dot org)
Zachary Stein, 2021-2024 (zachstein at louisiana dot edu)

Modisette Award

Purpose
To recognize excellence in Louisiana school library programs, rather than honor an outstanding school librarian.

Committee Members

Elementary School Libraries
Chair: Sherry Carver, 2020-2022 (carver at opsb dot net)

Middle School Libraries
Chair: Lovie Howell, 2021-2023 (kim dot howell at bossierschools dot org)

Amanda Jones, 2020-2022 (amanda dot jones at lpsb dot org)


Junior/Senior High School Libraries
Chair: Elizabeth Kahn, 2018-2020 (elizabethskahn at gmail dot com)

Leslye Gilchrist, 2021-2023 (ljgilchrist at caddoschools dot org)

LaKiesha Graham, 2021-2023 (lbgraham at caddoschools dot org) 

Amy Wander, 2018-2020 (amy dot wander at lafayettepubliclibrary dot org)


Public Libraries
Chair: Don Smith, 2019-2023 (donsmith at state dot lib dot la dot us)

Bianca Roberts, 2021-2025 (broberts at tangilibrary dot com)

Jennifer Seneca, 2021-2025 (jseneca at mypl dot info)

Meg Placke, ex officio (mplacke at crt dot la dot gov)


Public Library Trustees
Chair: vacant position

John Tuggle, 2021-2023 (jtuggle at shreve-lib dot org)

Celise Reech-Harper, 2021-2024 (llacelise at gmail dot com)

Mary Jo Cooper, 2021-2024 (mjcooper at gmail dot com)

Meg Placke, ex officio (mplacke at crt dot la dot gov)


Resolutions

Purpose
To initiate resolutions. The committee will act without bias or prejudice on the proposed resolutions and will have the power to review and edit the proposed resolutions for presentation in an acceptable format. It may refer resolutions to appropriate individuals, committees, or sections for study. It may also reject resolutions for being poorly prepared, inappropriate, or in conflict with the LLA Constitution, Bylaws, or policies. The committee will approve only those resolutions deemed to be important to the LLA membership.

Committee Members

Chair: Chris Achee, Parliamentarian, ex officio (cachee at state dot lib dot la dot us)



Conference

Purpose
To plan and make arrangements essential to the efficient conduct of the activities of the annual conference of the Association.

Committee Members

Conference Chair: Celise Reech-Harper (llacelise at gmail dot com)

Exhibits Chair: Joseph Gremillion (jgremillion at shreve-lib dot org)

Local Arrangements Chair:  Amy Wander (amy dot wander at lafayettepubliclibrary dot org)

Program Chair: Erin Chestnutt, 2022-2023 (echestnut at beau dot org)
Members: 

Miriam Childs, 2022-2023 (mchilds at lasc dot org)

Elissa Plank, 2022-2023 (esp1061 at lsu dot edu)

Nathan Heck, 2022-2023 (nheck at tangilibrary dot com)

Jennifer Seneca, 2022-2023 (jseneca at mylpl dot info)

Shawnie Crador, 2022-2023 (scrador at cameron dot lib dot la dot us)

Kristy Sturm, 2022-2023 (kasturm at lpssonline dot org) 

Publicity Chair:  Jennifer Hamilton (jen at louisiana dot edu)

Technology Coordinator:  Heather Plaissance (hcplaisance at louisiana dot edu)


Communications and Social Media

Purpose
To advocate for intellectual freedom, diversity, equity, and inclusion. To support the work of librarians and library staff. To regularly promote the work and ideals of the Louisiana Library Association. To advertise programs and conferences and encourage participation and attendance at these events. 

Committee Members
Chair: Sonnet Ireland, 2022-2025 (librarysonnet at gmail dot com)

Academic: Katherine Williamson, 2022-2025 (kwilliamson at centenary dot edu)

LaSSAL: Trina Kirk, 2022-2024 (tmkirk at rpl dot org)

Public: Chris Achee, 2022-2025 (cachee at myapl dot org)

Public: Victoria Cienfuegos, 2022-2024 (victoria at rpl dot org)

Public: Clara Anne Madison, 2022-2024 (amadison at bossierlibrary dor org)

SLIS: Lindsey Lutgring, 2022-2025 (lindsey dot lutgring at louisiana dot edu)

Past-president/Ex Officio:  Jeremy Bolom, 2022-2023 (llabolom at gmail dot com)


History

Purpose
To maintain the written history of the Association on an annual basis and shall include: Significant Executive Board action, Sections, Awards, Conference, Publications, and Committees. To compile and submit to a database to ensure availability to all members of the Association, the names of the General Officers, Section Officers, Award winners, Conference theme and site and dates.

Committee Members
Chair: Angela Dunnington, 2021-2024 (adunnington at uhcno dot edu)

Zachary Stein, 2021-2024 (zackstein at louisiana dot edu)

Melanie Sims, 2022-2025 (melanie dot sims at law dot lsu dot edu)

Caitlin Cooper, 2021-2024 (ccooper at dcc dot edu)

Michelle LeBlanc, 2022-2025 (blanm2014 at gmail dot com)

Jeremy Bolom, 2022-2025 (llabolom at gmail dot com)


Legislation

Purpose
To enlist the necessary support for successful passage of laws (federal, state and local) tending to promote library interests. To enlist necessary opposition to bills injurious to library interests. To develop plans yearly for a State Legislative Day, including a workshop for training of participants.

Committee Members:
President: Lora Amsberryaugier, 2022-2023 (lla dot amsberryaugier at gmail dot com)

First Vice President/President-Elect: Jessica Styons, 2022-2023 (jstyons1 at yahoo dot com)
Second Vice President: Kenya Iverson, 2022-2023 (kenya dot iverson at lsuhs dot edu)
State Librarian: Rebecca Hamilton, ex officio (rhamilton at crt dot state dot la dot us)
ALA Councilor:  Vivian McCain, voting ex officio (straitviv at gmail dot com)

LOUIS for Leg. Councilor: Laurie Blandino, ex officio (laurie dot blandino at gmail dot com)

Member-At-Large: Christopher Achee, 2022-2025 (cachee at myapl dot org)
Public: Jim Bass, 2022-2023 (jim dot bass at lafayettepubliclibrary dot org)
Special
Academic:  Courtney Stortz, 2021-2024 (crimes at dcc dot edu)


LLA Scholarship Committee

Purpose
To solicit funds from School of Library and Information Science alumni, association members, industry, and other sources. To administer the scholarship award.

Committee Members
Chair: Brandon Shoumaker, 2019-2022 (bshoumaker at calcasieulibrary dot org)

Giovanni Tairov, ex officio, 2021-2024 (director at mylpl dot info)

Paula Clemmons, 2021-2024 (pclemmons at episcopaldayschool dot org)
Vicki Nesting, 2021-2024 (vnestin at bellsouth dot net)
Kaci Wilson, 2021-2024 (kaci dot wilson at lsus dot edu)

Jodi Duet, 2022-2025 (jodi dot duet at fletcher dot edu)

Membership

Purpose
To solicit and stimulate membership.

Committee Members
Chair: Kayla Kalnasy, 2021-2023 (kkalnasy at shreve-lib dot org)

LaSSAL: Christopher Bienvenu, 2022-2025 (christopher dot bienvenu at gmail dot com)
Public: Michelle Blanchard LeBlanc, 2022-2025 (blanm2014 at gmail dot com)
Sub Specialist: Wooten Iocrecia, 2022-2025 (iocrecia dot wooten at lsuhs dot edu)
School: Jennifer Powers,jpowers at caddoschools dot org
Academic: Kaci Wilson, 2021-2024 (kaci dot wilson at lsus dot edu)
VP/President-elect: Jessica Styons, ex officio (jstyons1 at yahoo dot com)


Nominating

Purpose
To prepare a slate of two or more nominees, each of whom meets the qualifications stated in the Bylaws, for each elective office. 

Committee Members

Chair : Public/Trustees, Alicia Jefferson, 2022-2025 (ajefferson at shreve-lib dot org)

Academic/Subject Specialists, Raven Creech, 2022-2025 (ravenfhc at gmail dot com) 
School Librarian, vacant position


LLA Scholarship Trust

Purpose
To be responsible for the guardianship of the funds of the LLA Scholarship Fund - A Trust.

Trustees


Web Oversight

Purpose

Advocate for a content-rich and engaging website that benefits the Association and its members. Propose new content areas to the LLA Executive board for inclusion on the Association's website. Ensure that pages are up-to-date and error-free. Submit content and corrections to the association management team/web administrator. Ensure that the website follows best practices in web design and advocate for website improvements to maintain a modern and attractive website.

Committee Members
Chair: Carrie Goodall, 2022-2025 (cgoodall at myapl dot org)


Amy Baptist, 2022-2025 (amy dot baptist at selu dot edu)
Ricardo Mesa, 2021-2024 (rmesa at jefferson dot lib dot la dot us)

Katherine Rubin, 2022-2025 (krubin at uhcno dot edu)



Louisiana Library Association
1190 Meramec Station Rd.
Suite 207
Ballwin, MO 63021
lla@amigos.org
1-800-969-6562

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software