Louisiana Library Association

Log in

MEMBER LOGIN

COMMITTEES


Association Committees are appointed for the purpose of carrying out the work of the association. The President, with the approval of the Executive Board, appoints these Committees, as well as the Committee Chairs. If you are interested in serving on a committee please fill out an LLA Committee Volunteer Form and send it to LLA@amigos.org.

Each Section may also have Committees established to carry out the work of that particular Section. Each Section has Committee Chairs.

LLA currently has 16 standing association Committees:                            


Anthony Benoit Mid Career Award

Purpose
To recognize a Louisiana librarian in mid-career for outstanding contributions to the field of librarianship.

2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Lindsay Reno, lreno at uno dot edu

Committee: Brittney Hargrave, brittney dot hargrave at cpsb dot org
                      Melinda Matthews, matthres at ulm dot edu
                      Don Smith, dean dot don dot smith at gmail dot com
                      Janelle Zetty, janelle dot zetty at louisiana dot edu


Essae M. Culver Award

Purpose
To honor a librarian whose professional service and achievements, whose leadership in Louisiana association work, and whose lifetime accomplishments in a field of librarianship within the state merit recognition of particular value to Louisiana librarianship.

2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Angela Dunnington, adunnington at selu dot edu

Committee: Brittney Hargrave, brittney dot hargrave at cpsb dot org
                      Kate Martin, kmartin at nolalibrary dot org
                      Vicki Nesting, vnesting at bellsouth dot net
                      Courtney Stortz, crimes at dcc dot edu


Finance

Purpose
To review the annual budget for submission to the Executive Board. To review quarterly budgetary and financial statement supplied by fiscal officer To advise the Board on long range financial and investment planning. To keep abreast of all fiscal issues facing the Board and serve as financial advisors to the Board. 

2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Cathy Smith, catlib2000 at yahoo dot com

Committee: Sonnet Ireland, sonnet at sonnetireland dot com
                      Don Smith, dean dot don dot smith at gmail dot com
                      Shannan Hicks, shannanhicks at gmail dot com
                      Melanie Sims, notmes at slu dot edu
                      Blair Stapleton, blair dot stapleton at louisiana dot edu


Intellectual Freedom

Purpose
To defend the right and responsibility of the publicly supported library preserve the freedom to read, as stated in the "Library Bill of Rights" adopted by the American Library Association.

2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Leslye Gilchrist, ljgilchrist at caddoschools dot org

Committee: Rebecca Cloud, rcloud at mylpl dot org
                      Lindsay reno, lreno at uno dot edu
                      Michael Russo, mrusso1 at lsu dot edu
                      Daenal Vaughn-Tucker, dvaughntucker at cltcc dot edu





LLA Meritorious Service Award

Purpose
To publicly recognize an individual who has demonstrated sustained and exemplary leadership and service to further the development, services, visibility and/or policies of LLA.


2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Blair Stapleton, blair dot stapleton at louisiana dot edu

Committee: Lonnie Beene, lbeene at mcneese dot edu
                      Tanya DiMaggio, tanya at stpl dot us
                      Elizabeth Kahn, elizabethkhan at gmail dot com
                      Katherine Rubin, krubin at uhcno dot edu


Louisiana Literary Award

Purpose
To promote interest in books related to Louisiana, to encourage their publication, and to keep informed on the release of such books.


2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Elissa Plank, esp1061 at lsu dot edu

Committee: Lonnie Beene, lbeene at mcneese dot edu
                      Abigail DeSoto, desoto at latech dot edu
                      Pamela Edqards, pedwards at nsula dot edu
                      Debbie Huntington, huntingtond at nsula dot edu
                      Crissie Molina, crissie dot molina at stpl dot us
                      John Tuggle, jtuggle at shreve-lib dot org

Modisette Award

Purpose
To encourage the improvement of conditions in the public, school, and trustee fields.

2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Elementary School Libraries, Kim Howell, kim dot howell at bossierschools dot org
Middle School Libraries: Pam Touchstone, pamtouchstone at opsb dot net
Junior/Senior High School Libraries: Elizabeth Kahn, elizabethkahn at gmail dot com
Public Libraries (Awarded in Even-Numbered Years): Celise Reech-Harper,
     llacelise at gmail dot com
Public Library Trustees: Robin Toms, rtoms at oplib dot org

Resolutions

Purpose
To initiate resolutions. The committee will act without bias or prejudice on the proposed resolutions and will have the power to review and edit the proposed resolutions for presentation in an acceptable format. It may refer resolutions to appropriate individuals, committees, or sections for study. It may also reject resolutions for being poorly prepared, inappropriate, or in conflict with the LLA Constitution, Bylaws, or policies. The committee will approve only those resolutions deemed to be important to the LLA membership.

2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Janelle Zetty, janellezetty at gmail dot com

Committee: Chris Achee, cachee at state dot lib dot la dot us
                      Adrian Crawford, acrawford at bpcc dot edu



Please refer to the LLA Manual for further information on the charge and responsibilities of these Committees.



Conference

Purpose
To plan and make arrangements essential to the efficient conduct of the activities of the annual conference of the Association.

2019-20 Committee Members

Conference Chair: Celise Reech-Harper, llacelise at gmail dot com

Exhibits Chair:
Committee: Joey Gremillion, jgremillion at shreve-lib dot org

Local Arrangements Chair: Amy Wander, amy dot wander at lafayettepublic dot org
Committee:  Brittney Hargrave, bmcash0328 at gmail dot com

Program Chair: Patricia Brown, brownpa at nsula dot edu
Committee: Jen Hamilton, jen at louisiana dot edu
                      Erin Chestnut, echestnut at beau dot org
                      Daenel Tucker, dvaughntucker at cltcc dot edu
                      Angela Dunnington, adunnington at selu dot edu

Publicity Chair: Megan Thomas, mthom8889 at gmail dot com
Committee: Lauren Bordelon, lbordelon at assumptionlibrary dot com
                      Alicia Minter, minter at opsb dot net

AV Chair: Heather Plaisance, hcplaisance at louisiana dot edu
Committee: Elaine Harris, elaine dot harris at louisiana dot edu
                      Brian McDonald
                      Susan Richard, smr at louisiana dot edu
                      Sherry Curry, sherry at louisiana dot edu


History

Purpose
To maintain the written history of the Association on an annual basis and shall include: Significant Executive Board action, Sections, Awards, Conference, Publications, and Committees. To compile and submit to a database to ensure availability to all members of the Association, the names of the General Officers, Section Officers, Award winners, Conference theme and site and dates.

2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Abigail DeSoto, desoto at latech dot edu

Committee: Catherine Dean, cdean at susla dot edu
                      Kelly LaRocca, kelly at stpl dot us
                      Melanie Sims, melanie dot sims at law dot lsu dot edu
                      Janelle Zetty, janelle dot zetty at louisiana dot edu


Legislation

Purpose
To enlist the necessary support for successful passage of laws (federal, state and local) tending to promote library interests. To enlist necessary opposition to bills injurious to library interests. To develop plans yearly for a State Legislative Day, including a workshop for training of participants.

2019-20 Committee Members
President: Sonnet Ireland, sonnet at sonnetireland dot com
First Vice President/President-Elect:
Second Vice President: Julie Champagne, julie dot champagne at stmarylibrary dot org
ALA Councilor: Vivian McCain, vmccain at mylpl dot org
State Librarian: Rebecca Hamilton, rhamilton at crt dot state dot la dot us
LALINC: Teri Gallaway, teri dot gallaway at regents dot la dot gov
Member-At-Large: Chris Achee, cachee at state dot lib dot la dot us
Member-At-Large: Caitlin Cooper, ccoope at dcc dot edu
Public: Brandon Shoumaker, bshoumaker at calcasieulibrary dot org
Special: Miriam Childs, notmes at lsu dot edu
Academic: Janelle Zetty, janellezetty at gmail dot com


LLA Scholarship Committee

Purpose
To solicit funds from School of Library and Information Science alumni, association members, industry, and other sources. To administer the scholarship award.

2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Vivian McCain, vmccain at mylpl dot org

Committee: Rebecca Cloud, rcloud at mylpl dot org
                      Kelly LaRocca, kelly at stpl dot us
                      Katherine Rubin, krubin at uhcno dot edu
                      Brandon Shoumaker, bshoumaker at calcasieulibrary dot org
                      Megan Thomas, mthomas at calcasieulibrary dot org

Membership

Purpose
To solicit and stimulate membership.

2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: GODOERT, Jennifer Creevy, jrcreevy at uhcno dot edu
LaSSAL: Tracy Guyan, tguyan at mytpl dot org
Public: Jenny Mayer, mayerj at stpl dot us
Sub Specialist: Will Olmstadt, wolmst at lsuhsc dot edu
School: Jennifer Powers, jpowers at caddoschools dot org
School: Erika Russell, erika dot russell at vpsb dot us
Academic: Janelle Zetty, janellezetty at gmail dot com
SLIS Student: Roxanne Guidry, roxguidry at gmail dot com
VP/President-elect:


Nominating

Purpose
To prepare a slate of two or more nominees, each of whom meets the qualifications stated in the Bylaws, for each elective office. 

2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Academic/Subject Specialist, Connie Phelps, cphelps at uno dot edu
Public: Chris Achee, cachee at state dot lib dot la dot us
School Librarian: Paula Clemmons, pclemmons at episcopaldayschool dot org



LLA Scholarship Trust

Purpose
To be responsible for the guardianship of the funds of the LLA Scholarship Fund - A Trust.

Trustees
Angelle Deshautelles
Mary Stein
Elissa Plank
Beth Vandersteen
Michael Golrick
Melanie Sims


Web Oversight

Purpose
To establish guidelines for the site (to be approved by the LLA Executive Board). To design and achieve an effective web site. To resolve any future issues with the web site. To work with the sections and others to create/improve web pages. To work with the LLA Office to review hardware and software requirements for the office computers. To address issues relating to the membership database, calendar, and other items posted on the web site.

2019-20 Committee Members
Chair: Marty Miller, martymiller at lsu dot edu

Committee: Erin Berry, eaberry at caddoschools dot org
                      Shanna Clevenger, scleve at dcc dot edu




Louisiana Library Association
1190 Meramec Station Rd.
Suite 207
Ballwin, MO 63021
lla@amigos.org
1-800-969-6562 ext 3

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software