Louisiana Library Association

Log in



To honor significant contributions to libraries and librarianship, the Association and its sections have established a variety of awards.  Recipients are recognized at the Annual Conference in a celebratory ceremony and reception. For further details about each award and its qualifications and nomination process, please click the links below or contact the current 1st Vice President.

Association Awards

Alex Allain Intellectual Freedom Award
Recognizes the contributions of an individual or a group actively promoting intellectual freedom in Louisiana.

Essae M. Culver Distinguished Service Award
Honors a librarian whose professional service and achievements, whose leadership in Louisiana association work, and whose lifetime accomplishments in a field of librarianship within the state merit recognition of particular value to Louisiana librarianship.

Louisiana Literary Award
Presented to the author of an outstanding book about Louisiana.

Anthony H. Benoit Mid-Career Award
Presented to a member in mid-career who has made outstanding contributions to librarianship.

LLA Meritorious Service Award
Publicly recognizes an individual who has demonstrated sustained and exemplary leadership and service to further the development, services, visibility and/or policies of LLA.

James O. Modisette Awards

Public Library
Presented in even numbered years to a public library to reward and encourage the improvement of public library service in a two-year period.

Presented annually to an Elementary School Library, to a Middle/Junior High School Library, and to a High School Library to recognize excellence in Louisiana school library programs.

Public Library Trustee
Presented annually to a Public Library Trustee to commemorate distinguished service to a Louisiana public library.

Section Awards

Grassroots Grant
This award recognizes outstanding graduate or undergraduate library sciences students. Sponsored by the Academic Section and Herbie Misty Thorpe.

Library Director of the Year Award
To recognize the outstanding contribution of a Louisiana current library director. Nomination form here

Margaret T. Lane Award
This award is sponsored by the Government Documents Round Table to recognize and individual or organization that has made an especially significant contribution in advancing access to, or use of government information in Louisiana.

LASL School Librarian of the Year Award
To give recognition to a school librarian who has demonstrated outstanding work and dedication to the mission and goals of the library profession within the state of Louisiana.

Support Staff Professional of the Year Award
Presented by the Louisiana Support Staff Association of Libraries (LaSSAL) to a support staff professional who has made outstanding contribution to his/her library in the field of experience and advanced and strengthened the image of support staff.

Librarian of the Year Award
To recognize the outstanding contribution of a Louisiana Public Librarian who is not a director. Nomination form here

Lucy B. Foote Award
Presented by the Subject Specialists Section to an Association member in recognition of his/her contribution to special librarianship.

ACRL-LA/LLA Academic Award for Outstanding Librarianship
To publicly recognize an academic librarian for service and/or original research relevant to academic libraries and/or higher education.

Sue Hefley Educator of the Year Award
Presented by the Louisiana Association of School Librarians to an educator who has made outstanding contributions to school libraries in Louisiana.

Louisiana Library Association
1190 Meramec Station Rd.
Suite 207
Ballwin, MO 63021

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software