Log in


LLA 2024 - 2025 Election Bios

Below are the bios of the nominees for next year's LLA officers. Ballots will be sent out to members separately.

LLA Executive Board

First Vice President

Kayla Kalnasy, Shreve Memorial Library

Passionate about promoting libraries and literacy, Kayla Kalnasy is the Assistant Project Facilitator at Shreve Memorial Library in Caddo Parish. She has worked at SML since 2009, filling roles over the years in various management positions, most recently as the Interlibrary Loans Supervisor. She has been involved with the Louisiana Library Association for several years as a member of the Louisiana Literary Award Committee, Membership Committee Chair, Public Library Section Secretary, LaSSAL Vice Chair, LLA Secretary, and LLA Parliamentarian. Kayla is committed to contributing to the growth and success of LLA through collaboration with librarians and library support staff around the State.

Second Vice President

Theresa N. Tademy, Grant Parish Library

In 2018, the Grant Parish Library System (GPL) promoted Theresa N. Tademy to System Branch Manager/ Outreach Coordinator. The Library hired Tademy as a Circulation Assistant in 2011 at the Main Branch. She was promoted to the position of Branch Manager/Outreach Coordinator in 2015. Tademy, who born and raised in Colfax, Louisiana is a graduate of LSUA. Prior to joining GPL, Tademy spent previous years working for USPS in Baton Rouge, WHSmith in Atlanta, and WellsFargo in Dallas while volunteering at her local library in each city. She is currently serving as Secretary for the LLA Executive Board. Tademy is a member of ALA, LLA, and LaSSAL.


Victoria Cienfuegos, Rapides Parish Library

Victoria Cienfuegos is a Youth Services Librarian for the Rapides Parish Library Programming and Outreach Department. She holds a Masters of Library from Clarion University. In her free time, Victoria enjoys knitting, cooking, and reading. Victoria resides in Central Louisiana and shares her home with Abigail the Cat, AKA the Chaos Gremlin.

Section Officers

Academic Section

Vice Chair/ Chair Elect No Nominees

Secretary No Nominees



Kara Heck, Tangipahoa Parish Library

Kara Heck is a graphic designer and public library programming assistant from Hammond, Louisiana. Kara earned her B.A. in Graphic Design from Southeastern Louisiana University in 2014. As a designer, Kara has provided services for the New Orleans Museum of Art, Design the Planet, and Anntoine Marketing and Design. Kara began her work for the Tangipahoa Parish Library in 2020 and currently assists in the organization and administration of system-wide programming.

Vice Chair/ Chair Elect No Nominees

Second Vice Chair No Nominees

Secretary No Nominees

LASL Section

Second Vice President No Nominees

Public Section

Vice Chair/ Chair Elect

Emily Horan, Shreve Memorial Library

Emily Horan is the Assistant Acquisition Librarian for Shreve Memorial Library in Caddo Parish. She joined the organization in March 2019 and graduated with her Masters Degree in Library Science in 2020. She has previously served as the Youth Services librarian at the Hamilton/South Caddo Branch.

As Shreve Memorial Library's Assistant Acquisition Librarian, Emily is in charge of the purchasing for the children's and YA collections at all twenty-one branches and the entire AV collection, which includes DVDs, CDs, Nintendo Switch Lites and games, and much more. In addition to her work at Shreve Memorial Library, she works as the Overdrive Purchaser for the Green Gold Consortium, a partnership of twelve Northern Louisiana library systems united in providing excellent and relevant digital resources to their patrons.

Secretary No Nominees

Subject Specialist Section

Vice Chair / Chair Elect No Nominees

Secretary No Nominees

Trustees Section

Chair No Nominees

Vice Chair No Nominees


Amy Bernard, Iberia Parish

Amy Bernard, MLIS, is a public librarian with over 13 years of public library experience and six years coaching young readers in a public-school setting as an educator. She holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and a Master of Library and Information Science degree from the University of Southern Mississippi. When not at her job as the Iberia Parish Library's Children's Librarian, she enjoys cozy mysteries, parks, and empowering all librarians.



1190 Meramec Station Rd., Suite 207, Ballwin, MO 63021

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software